1-877-472-0791
24 - hours / 7 days
Free Maryland DUI Case Evaluation
Maryland DUI Podcasts
Free Maryland DUI Fact Book
Recent Maryland DUI Case Wins
Maryland DUI Legal Fees

Maryland DUI Third Offense

When it comes to driving under the influence (DUI), Maryland lawmakers show little leniency to drivers who have a history of committing the offense. As a result, repeat offenders often receive the maximum sentence allowed under state law—and there are few exceptions to this rule when it comes to a Maryland DUI third offense. 

Legally speaking, a repeat offender is a driver who has been convicted of two or more DUIs within a five-year period. In other words, if you already have a conviction on your record and are arrested for a subsequent offense, you will be treated as a repeat offender if less than five years have passed since your last DUI.

In the event that you are convicted of a third drunk driving offense, you will face a number of severe penalties due to the state’s stringent sentencing guidelines. In addition to paying up to $3,000 in fines and spending up to three years in jail, your driver’s license could be permanently suspended. What’s more, along with the court-imposed sentence you receive, your conviction may also lead to difficulties in your personal life.

First and foremost, as a repeat offender, you are sure to be charged far more for auto insurance than other drivers. In some cases, a DUI conviction could even impact your medical and life insurance rates.

However, your insurance rates aren’t the only things that will be affected if you are found guilty of drunk driving. Your conviction could also cost you numerous opportunities in the future—making you ineligible for certain jobs, housing programs, and educational grants.

As you can see, drinking and driving is a serious offense in the state of Maryland. If you are facing a third offense, it is best to have an experienced attorney by your side when you face the judge in state DUI court. With the right legal strategy, many drivers are able to get their charges reduced or dismissed and avoid many or all of the consequences of a drunk driving conviction.

If you're seeking more information about Maryland DUI offenses and penalties, call Bruce Robinson at 1-877-472-0791 to receive free, no-obligation advice. You can also download a free digital copy of The Maryland DUI Fact Book, which contains information you may find useful.


Ask A Lawyer About Your Case