Question: Can you explain the penalties for a first offense DUI in Maryland?
Answer: A first-offense DUI in Maryland, as I’ve indicated, is a misdemeanor and the maximum result of that, if found guilty, can be up to a year in prison, up to a $1,000 fine and 12 points on your Maryland drivers license. If you are found guilty for a DUI in Maryland, you are going to get the 12 points if in fact you are found guilty—that is automatic. There is typically some type of fine; it can range up to $1,000, albeit it is typically not that high. But there is some sort of fine that is typically involved in that. Then, there is also jail time, which is obviously the big one. Jail time, obviously, we tend to want to avoid in every case, and depends on the nature of the case. They can impose up to one year in jail for the offense. I’ve never seen that in my 20-plus years of practicing DUI defense, I’ve never seen anybody go to jail for a year, certainly for a first offense, and I don’t think I’ve seen it even in the multiple multiple-DUI offenses that we defend. But, those are the things that it carries: one full year, $1,000 fine, up to, and 12 points on one’s drivers license.