1-877-472-0791
24 - hours / 7 days
Free Maryland DUI Case Evaluation
Maryland DUI Podcasts
Free Maryland DUI Fact Book
Recent Maryland DUI Case Wins
Maryland DUI Legal Fees

Maryland DUI Felony

Did you know that, in some cases, driving under the influence (DUI) can be classified as a felony offense? It’s true—and like most states, Maryland law specifies a number of scenarios where a driver can be charged with a felony DUI. Continue reading to learn the laws regarding Maryland DUI felony offenses.

Although DUI is usually treated as a misdemeanor, if there are certain extenuating factors, the charge can be upgraded to a felony. As the more severe offense, a felony DUI conviction carries far greater penalties than a misdemeanor, including a larger fine, longer license suspension, and lengthier jail sentence. In some cases, a felony conviction could even lead to the permanent loss of your driving privileges.

So what types of cases are serious enough to warrant felony charges? Well, you could be charged with felony DUI if you have a history of drunk driving or are arrested with a blood alcohol content (BAC) above 0.20%.

Felony charges may also apply if you are involved in a serious auto accident or are caught driving 20 miles or more above the posted speed limit. Finally, you could be charged with a felony DUI if you were traveling with an underage passenger in your vehicle at the time of your arrest. 

DUI is one of the most serious criminal charges a driver can face—and a felony conviction can lead to a number of consequences. From paying two to three times more for insurance to learning you’re ineligible for countless employment and housing opportunities, a felony DUI conviction can have a serious impact on your future. In light of these penalties, the ideal strategy for your case is to simply avoid being found guilty of the offense in court.

Discuss your Maryland DUI arrest with an experienced attorney to determine the best defense tactics for your case. With the right strategy, you may be able to get your DUI reduced or even dismissed entirely.

Put the odds in your favor, and call Bruce Robinson at 1-877-472-0791 to ask about Maryland DUI laws and charges. Don't forget to download a free copy of The Maryland DUI Fact Book to learn about the various drunk-driving laws.


Ask A Lawyer About Your Case