Maryland DUI Administrative License Suspension
Everyone knows that driving under the influence of alcohol (DUI) is not just dangerous—it’s also against the law. Like most states, Maryland has stringent guidelines in place when it comes to the amount of alcohol drivers can legally have in their bloodstream. Any driver who violates these laws may be subjected to a number of harsh penalties, including a Maryland DUI administrative license suspension.
From a legal perspective, a person operating a vehicle with a blood alcohol content (BAC) of 0.08% or more is considered impaired. The only way BAC can be measured is through the use of chemical testing, a procedure that requires analyzing the individual’s breath, blood, or urine to determine the percentage of alcohol found in his or her system. Breath tests, or breathalyzers, are the most common type of chemical test administered to drivers who are suspected of DUI.
If the results of your test indicate you have an illegal amount of alcohol in your system, you can expect to be arrested and charged with drunk driving. In addition, you will also face criminal charges if you refuse to perform a chemical test due to the state’s Implied Consent Law.
Whether you fail or refuse to take a chemical test, your driving privileges will be suspended immediately if you are arrested for DUI. Assuming you’re a first-time offender and your BAC was under 0.15%, the suspension will remain in effect for 45 days. However, if you have a prior DUI conviction on your record, or were arrested with a blood alcohol content above 0.15%, you can expect to face a longer suspension.
Following your arrest, the officer will issue a temporary driver’s license which will be valid for the next 45 days. Once you receive this document, you will have ten days to request a hearing with the state’s Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) and challenge your arrest—otherwise, your driving privileges will remain suspended. Because these hearings are notoriously difficult to win, it is best to have legal representation when your court date arrives.
If you are arrested for DUI in Maryland, you face the automatic loss of your driver’s license—even if you are a first-time offender. Fortunately, an experienced DUI defense attorney may be able to get your charges reduced to a non-DUI offense or potentially dismissed.
Call Robinson & Associates at 1-877-472-0791 if you have any questions about drunk driving laws in Maryland. Also, complete a no-obligation evaluation to receive a free digital copy of The Maryland DUI Fact Book.